top of page
Search

Anne Marie 'Unhealthy' (2023) - Album Review

Hey everyone! For today's review I will be reviewing an album by Anne Marie called 'Unhealthy'. Overall the album seems to be a really powerful and strong album of songs speaking about experiences from previous relationships and dealing with difficult things in a positive and boss b*tch way. Below I'll review some of the songs on the album that really stuck out for me!


'Sucks To Be You' was the introduction to the album with the first song being called 'Sad B*tch' where Anne Marie sings about not wanting to make 'another sad girl song' adding that she's going 'down a different road - everyone is so down and I'm tired of it'. She has also deleted all of the content on her Instagram page so I'm sure she's going to be rebranding herself.


Some of the collaborations on the album include 'Psycho' featuring Aitch, 'Unhealthy' featuring Shania Twain, 'You & I' featuring Khalid and 'Expectations' featuring Minnie from (G)i-dle. Psycho seems to be a powerful song back at someone who called her this name but she's revealing that they have been speaking to many other people (and even some of their mum's, so it's kind of hypocritical. The other song that I really liked on the album was her collaboration with Khalid as it seems to be a powerful yet emotional ballad with lyrics including 'let's put our PJ's on and watch 4 movies in a row - now I know I'm not alone', suggesting that being in somebody's company is better than being alone. She also sings 'we can be strong one day, but not tonight' which hints at the fact of wanting to actually enjoy someone's presence.


Other tracks from the album include 'Haunt You' where Anne Marie sings about a previous encounter she has had with someone, with lyrics including 'I bet you regret it when you kiss her in your car', almost as a way to say that this person should be missing Anne Marie. She also sings the line 'you asked me to promise to leave you alone, but that's boring, so sorry that's a no' which shows her sassy energy, and that actually it's more fun to mess around with someone's head than to just move on fully. 'Trainwreck' sounds to be a positive song about moving on without regret, and 'putting on a dress' and attending a party shows that Anne Marie is glad that this person isn't here.


'Grudge' is a song about not holding a grudge against somebody, when she says 'karma's going to get me back and I shouldn't hold a grudge but I wanna'. The song 'Obsessed' sounds like a mix of an origina song and a track from the hit film Oliver Twist and it sounds really good blended together, where she asks 'how can someone be so perfect?' 'Kills me to love you' has a nice rhythm to the song with lyrics speaking about Eomao & Juliet and Anne Marie explaining that her and her partner are right for eachother. 'Irish Goodbye' explains that sometimes she dives in head first, 'you go in reverse and make me feel like I'm living a lie', suggesting that maybe it sometimes doesn't feel like real life. 'If I can't have you, nobody else is me and you' also adds onto the idea that there won't be a couple similar to them in the future.


The next track that I really like is 'Cuckoo' which is probably one of my favourites from the album where she sings 'I go a little OTT with the ODC, all my ex's say I'm crazy' where she is being very honest and open about her personal life and some of her struggles. She continues to sing the lyrics 'check your phone when you're half asleep, got a PhD in anxiety', which explain that maybe she has trust issues, but also she might have a lot of self doubt. In terms of her qualities in a relationship, the next song 'Never Loved Anyone' explains that 'my only complaint is that I'm scared', which could hint that she's scared of loving this person and she will have to start from the beginning again. She also says 'If the world pulls us apart, I promise I'll come and find where you are', suggesting that she will put in time and money to find someone that she admires.


The final song I wanted to give a shoutout to was 'ICK' where she simply explains some of the things that she doesn't like in a relationship and says 'we were doing just fine and now I'm gonna be fine, hinting that something has happened and it's changed the vibe of her relationship. Anne Marie explains that she 'used to love that boyfriend energy, and then sings 'your whole kinda vibe's freaking me out' suggesting that this person's personality and actions have changed over the course of their relationship. The song also has a touch of Indian/Hindi sounding music in the background which gives it a bit of a relaxing touch!


Hopefully you enjoyed my album review, and until the next one - goodbye!

1 view0 comments
bottom of page